Détail d'une référence

Assistance for the Senegalese government in renegotiating its drinking water contract with Sénégalaise des Eaux

The Agence Française de Développement (AFD)


Contexte et enjeux

The Agence Française de Développement has been assisting the Senegalese government for several years in improving its service for producing and distributing drinking water across the country.
In order to achieve this, the Senegalese government signed a service delegation contract with two entities: the Sénégalaise des Eaux (SDE), the private operator which runs the service, and the Société Nationale de l’Eau Sénégalaise (SONES), which is in charge of managing the assets of the service. With this contract due to expire, the Senegalese government wished to draw on external expertise to support it in the negotiations required for the extending of the contract. It therefore called on Espelia's services, with funding from AFD.

Prestations réaliséees et résultats

For the government, the principal issue at stake in the negotiations was the price of water. A major prospective modelling exercise was therefore carried out by our consultants in order to assess as accurately as possible the expected changes in the price and to compare these to the proposals put forward by the operator.
In addition to the strategic advice given in the course of the negotiations, Espelia also carried out sensitivity tests on all the components contributing to the price of water and assisted the Senegalese government in developing its investment programme for the water and sanitation sector for the 2013-2017 period, taking into account the financial margins for manoeuvre in the sector.

The mission resulted in the signing of an extension amendment to the contract for a duration of 5 years between the Senegalese government and Sénégalaise des Eaux.

Contact
  • MATTERSDORF Guillaume MATTERSDORF
    Directeur Pôle Eau et Milieux Aquatiques
    Prendre contact

Détail d'une référence

Assistance au gouvernement sénégalais pour la renégociation de son contrat d’eau potable avec la Sénégalaise des Eaux

Agence Française de Développement (AFD)


Contexte et enjeux

L’Agence Française de Développement assiste l’Etat Sénégalais depuis plusieurs années dans l’amélioration de son service de production et de distribution d’eau potable sur le territoire national.
Pour ce faire, l’Etat Sénégalais a passé un contrat de délégation avec deux entités : la Sénégalaise des Eaux (SDE), opérateur privé qui exploite le service, et la Société Nationale de l’Eau Sénégalaise (SONES), en charge de la gestion patrimoniale du service. Ce contrat arrivant à échéance, l’Etat Sénégalais a souhaité se doter d’une expertise extérieure pour l’accompagner dans les négociations nécessaires à une prolongation du contrat. Il a donc fait appel à Espelia sur un financement de l’AFD.

Prestations réaliséees et résultats

Le principal enjeu des négociations pour l’Etat était le prix de l’eau. Un gros travail de modélisation prospective a donc été entrepris par nos consultants pour évaluer au mieux l’évolution attendue du prix et la mettre en regard des propositions faites par l’exploitant.
Outre les conseils stratégiques fournis dans la conduite des négociations, Espelia a également effectué des tests de sensibilité sur toutes les composantes du prix de l’eau et accompagné l’Etat Sénégalais dans l’élaboration de son programme d’investissement dans le secteur de l’eau et de l’assainissement sur la période 2013-2017 au regard des marges de manœuvre financières disponibles sur le secteur.

La mission a permis la signature d’un avenant de prolongation du contrat d’une durée de 5 ans entre l’Etat Sénégalais et la Sénégalaise des Eaux.

Contact